Asian Quinoa Salad

23 Oct

I always make my shakes in the evenings so that I don’t wake my family in the morning (the Vitamix sounds like a freight train).  I make enough for Hubby and kids to have in the morning.  My daughter came up to me just as I was about to make a smoothie and says “mom can you make that green smoothie, not the Glowing Green smoothie but the green banana peanut butter smoothie”  Ha she actually knows her shakes-she does listen! It was a proud moment  🙂

My sister brought this salad over for Thanksgiving.  This is now my new favorite recipe.  I’ve made it twice since.  Hubby even ate and he surprisingly liked it.

Asian Qinoa salad

ASIAN QUINOA SALAD

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked Quinoa
  • 1 cup edamame beans (no pods) (I used frozen and then steamed them in their bag)
  • 1/8th of a small red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes, diced

Dressing:

  • 2 Tbsp light soya sauce
  • 2 Tbsp rice vinegar
  • ½ Tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1tbsp toasted sesame seeds

Directions:

  1. Cook quinoa as indicated on the package
  2. Steam edamames till soft.
  3. In a bowl, whisk together all dressing ingredients
  4. Add all remaining ingredients and toss till  fully mixed. Serve warm or chilled.

NUTRITION FACTS:

Quinoa is one of the most protein-rich foods we can eat. It is a complete protein containing all nine essential amino acids.

2 Responses to “Asian Quinoa Salad”

  1. David Bonnell October 23, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    I like quinoa and it doesn’t leave you feeling bloated, not sure about the pronunciation still, keenwa ?

    • candysdailydish October 23, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

      That’s exactly how you pronounce it. It’s definitely so much lighter than other grains…I love it!

Leave a Reply

Therien Property Management

Commercial and Residential Property Management Services

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

Oh She Glows

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

