It’s Hump day :) New Workout: At home Brazilian Butt Lift

25 Sep

Happy Wednesday everyone!

I have to say that my son is pretty darn special.  He’s always been a momma’s boy.  One thing that makes him so great is that he rarely complains and he’s so cautious on how he words things to avoid hurting someone’s feelings.  He will eat anything I put in front of him (or try to).  Sometimes I’ll see him nibbling on his dinner trying to eat it and I’ll say “buddy, you don’t really like it do you” and he’ll say “I do, It’s just not my favorite thing you’ve made“.  Last night when I was making his lunch for school he said to me “Mom can I have a  granola bar or cookie in my lunch today without any of your fancy healthy stuff in them” and I said “what do you mean” and he responds “I really like your healthy cookies but I LOVE your normal chocolate chip cookies sometimes too”.  I told him that I COMPLETELY understand and I made him some of my special “not so healthy cookies” to pack in his lunch today.  As much as I strive to feed my kids the healthiest food possible, I need to remember that they’re kids.  It’s okay when they have the occasional sweet.  My kids are so active that I’m not overly concerned when I give a little ice cream or cookies.
I used to buy the Quacker Granola bars for my kids (you know, that huge box they sell at Costco).   I stopped buying them when I was bored one day and Googled all the ingredients (hahaha yes I’m a geek).   There’s so many different types of sugar in those things!
The recipe below is such a good substitute.  My kids love these and I forgot about this recipe until I found it while I was cleaning out some drawers the other day.

HOMEMADE GRANOLA BARS

IMG_2694

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 1 cup rice krispies cereal
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Lightly coat a 9X11-inch pan with cooking spray and set aside. I
  2. In a large bowl, stir together the oats and rice krispies. Set aside. In a small saucepan, combine the butter, honey and brown sugar. Cook over medium heat until the butter melts and the mixture comes together, stirring frequently. Cook at a simmer (so the mixture is lightly bubbling) for 2 minutes. Remove from the heat and stir in the vanilla.
  3. Pour the wet mixture over the oats/rice krispies and mix with a wooden spoon until evenly moistened. Press the mixture into the prepared pan, pressing down very firmly. If the mixture isn’t pressed down well enough, the bars will be crumbly once they cool. Sprinkle the mini chocolate chips on top. Press lightly if you want them to stick to the bars.
  4. Let the bars cool for at least 2 hours at room temperature. Cut into rectangles. Store well covered at room temperature.

Image

Here’s a workout to improve the shape of your behind.  For me, this is the first place I notice any weight gain – my so called “trouble zone”.  These exercises that I combined in this workout have helped lift and firm my bum. Do this workout at least once a week and combine it with other circuit workouts and Cardio.  You’ll see a difference in no time.

Brazilian_Butt_Lift_Workout

Here are some How-to  videos

1.  Single leg hip lifts

2. Plie Squat

3. Lunges with front kick

4. Donkey kicks

5. Jumping Lunges

6. Wall sit

One Response to “It’s Hump day :) New Workout: At home Brazilian Butt Lift”

  1. Tracey September 26, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    If you can guarantee me I will have a perfect behind like you, I will do this every day;) You are my idol!! Just finished circuit 1 and want to give up;))). Love Tracey

Leave a Reply

Therien Property Management

Commercial and Residential Property Management Services

thebarebeauty

baring it all on health fitness beauty - a Singapore fitness & beauty blog

Ashley Wiseman

Empowering women to live their healthiest life

The Highlands Life

Finding joy in the bends & curves of life.

omfg. so good.

if it tastes good, eat it.

Brooklyn Farm Girl

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

Pumps & Iron

A healthy lifestyle blog.

Hungry Mother Runner

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

