Meatless Mondays – Quinoa Spinach Patties and Weekly Meal Plan

23 Sep

On Sundays I like to plan ahead by making a weekly meal plan.  For all you busy moms, you  know how hectic the evenings can be with homework and activities.  Sunday morning I’ll plan the meals and then I do groceries, cook some of the meat, make a big pot of Quinoa or brown rice or make a few of the meals ahead of time.  The crock pot has been my savior.  I use it at least once a week.

Here’s my weekly meal plan for this week

Weekly_Meal_Plan

My struggle in the past was trying to make meals that the entire family enjoyed.  I’m not one for large portions of pasta or a lot of meat  but my kids and hubby are.  So what I do is take smaller portions of what they are eating and I pair it with a large salad.  For example, last night I had a very small portion of spaghetti and a large salad. Tomorrow when we have Chicken and Bean tacos, I’ll have some chicken and beans on my plate with all the toppings that I would normally put on a taco (avocado, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese) but without the shell.

Last night I made these Quinoa and Spinach patties from one of my favorite blogs. I knew that tonight was going to be pretty hectic so these were super easy to make ahead of time and you can store them in an airtight container in the fridge until you need them during the week.  When I told Hubby that I was going to start having “Meatless Mondays” he rolled his eyes.  He’s always worried about taking in enough protein.  I reminded him that Quinoa is a complete protein.  Quinoa actually contains 8g of protein per cooked cup of quinoa.  This is more than brown rice!

Quinoa and Spinach Patties

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 cups water
  • 4 eggs, whisked
  • 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 3 large scallions, sliced thin
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup steamed spinach, chopped (frozen is fine)
  • 1 cup plain bread crumbs
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil

Directions:

Rinse the quinoa thoroughly and place the grains in a medium saucepan with 2 cups of water. Bring the water to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Cook until quinoa is tender and has absorbed the liquid, about 20 minutes. Let it cool.

In a large bowl, combine the cooked quinoa, eggs, Parmesan, scallions, garlic, salt, steamed spinach, and bread crumbs. Let everything sit for a few minutes to absorb the liquid. The batter should be moist, but not runny. Form patties 1/4 cup each.

Heat the oil in a large non-stick skillet over medium-low heat. In 2 or 3 batches, cook the patties covered for 8-10 minutes on each side, or until browned and golden.IMG_2688

Makes 14 patties.

IMG_2690

TODAY’S WORKOUT….

As per a request from a friend who will be travelling this week, I put together a NO EQUIPMENT REQUIRED CIRCUIT.  This workout can be done anywhere.

Weekly_Meal_Plan-1

HAPPY MONDAY 🙂

Leave a Reply

Therien Property Management

Commercial and Residential Property Management Services

thebarebeauty

baring it all on health fitness beauty - a Singapore fitness & beauty blog

Ashley Wiseman

Empowering women to live their healthiest life

The Highlands Life

Finding joy in the bends & curves of life.

omfg. so good.

if it tastes good, eat it.

Brooklyn Farm Girl

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

Pumps & Iron

A healthy lifestyle blog.

Hungry Mother Runner

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

