5 tips to help prevent your fruits and veggies from spoiling too quickly

18 Sep

A few weeks ago, I was cleaning out our fridge and couldn’t believe the amount of fruits and veggies we had that  had gone bad.  What frustrated me the most is when I spotted fuzzies on my fresh berries that I just bought a few days prior.

Throwing out food to me is like taking a bunch of money and ripping it up.  I went online to search for ways to help keep my food from spoiling so quickly and discovered these  5 tips that I thought I’d share.

  1. Submerge berries in a solution of 1 part vinegar to 10 parts water.  Let berries soak for a few minutes and then the key is to let them dry completely.  I lay them out on a paper towel but you can also leave them in the strainer.  Once dry, add a paper towel to the bottom of a container or Tupperware and add fruit and pop them back in the fridge for later.
  2. One bad apple can spoil the whole bunch.  When you see one going old, toss it.  Apples give off a gas that speed the ripening of other fruits.  That’s why if you want to quick ripen a banana, you put it in a bag with an apple.
  3. Keep Bananas lasting up to 5 days longer by wrapping the top with plastic wrap
  4. Wrap Greens (Spinach, broccoli, Celery, Lettuce) in tin foil before storing them in the fridge
  5. Tomatoes should be stored at room temperature

No daily workout from me today – Sorry.  I spent the night cuddled on the couch watching a movie with my kiddos. We were all feeling lazy!  I’ll make it up to you tomorrow 😉

My challenge for all of you today is to drink 1 large glass of water before each meal and snack you eat today.  

Leave a Reply

Therien Property Management

Commercial and Residential Property Management Services

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

Oh She Glows

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

