24 Minute Bodyweight Circuit

17 Sep

Okay I know I’m late to jump on the Friday Night Lights bandwagon but OMG I can’t get enough of this show.  My friend told me about the series a few weeks ago and lent me the DVDs for all 5 seasons and I just finished season 1.  Hubby and I have been staying up late watching it and that’s probably the reason why I’ve been so tired at work 😉  If you haven’t seen this series, I HIGHLY recommend it-even if it’s just to check out Tim Riggins (He’s totally worth it).

I had to pick up my son early from school today.  Looks like Flu season is here!    When I brought him home, he fell to sleep right away.  I decided to do a little baking and experimenting.

I made a bunch of quinoa over the weekend and decided to try this recipe Quinoa cookie recipe modified slightly.

Ingredients:

2 cups whole-wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 cup applesauce
2 tablespoons vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup cooked and cooled quinoa
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat and set aside.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, salt, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and baking soda. Set aside. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter and brown sugar until smooth, about 3 minutes. Add in the eggs and vanilla extract. Add the applesauce and mix until combined. Stir in the raisins.IMG_2654

These are GREAT!  My daughter who is the pickiest eater came into the kitchen after school and grabbed one.  I watched her as she was eating it because she’s notorious for spitting  food out that she doesn’t like.  She ate the entire thing and came back for more.  I’ve figured out that the trick to get them to eat healthier foods is to not tell them it’s healthy.  As soon as you tell them there’s quinoa, spinach or chick peas in their food (especially their cookies), they won’t eat it – or at least my kids won’t.

***********************

Tonights workout is a 24 minute no-equipment required circuit workout.  You can do this while your dinner is in the oven so no excuses!!!

24_Minute_Circuit_2

One Response to “24 Minute Bodyweight Circuit”

  1. fitandfashion September 17, 2013 at 9:02 am #

    This looks like a great workout. I think I might give it a try as a semi-plyo workout this weekend. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

Therien Property Management

Commercial and Residential Property Management Services

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

Oh She Glows

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

