Thyroid Friendlier Green Smoothie and Boredom Blaster Treadmill Workout

16 Sep

clagett-farm-clagettfarm-2732847-oKale and Spinach are supposed to be good for you right?  DEFINITELY.   However if you have a low Thyroid, consuming too much goitrogens can disrupt normal thyroid function by inhibiting the body’s ability to use iodine.

I’m not one to run to the doctors.  In fact my doctor is usually the one to call me to get me in to see him.  I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease of the thyroid called Hashimoto’s when I was only 19.  I’ve been on synthetic thyroid medication ever since.  For the past few weeks I’ve been feeling extremely tired and my hands have been going numb.  Because I’ve dealt with this disease for so long, I know when my thyroid isn’t functioning properly.

I consume a lot of raw green vegetables and my doctor and believe this could be one of the reasons why I haven’t been feeling 100%. Suffice to say that consuming a lot of raw goitrogens isn’t great for people with thyroid issues.

When my doctor told me that my consumption of green veggies is probably the reason why I’m  feeling so blah, I got extremely upset…...I love my green smoothies, I love salads.  However he immediately told me I can still eat them in moderation but to try to steam them as much as possible because people with thyroid issues are better off cooking goitrogenic foods.  Cooking appears to deactivate some of the goitrogenic properties of these foods.

Here is a Thyroid “Friendlier” Green Smoothie recipe that I tried this morning.  It takes a bit more time to make but I’ll try to steam the veggies while I”m making my dinner and have my smoothie made the night before.  I’ll try doing them this way for a while to see if I notice a difference.

Thyroid Friendlier Green Smoothie

  • Steamed Kale and Spinach.  Two big handfuls each
  • Bunch of Parsley
  • 4-5 Celery Stalks
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 2 Tbls Coconut oil (if you have it on hand)
  • Water.  2 cups give or take depending on how thick or thin you like your smoothie

Now on to todays circuit.  You’re going to love this one.   This workout was just what I needed today.  I was stiff and tired before I began and when I was done, I felt so much better!  The only equipment required for this workout is a treadmill

Boredom_Blaster_Treadmill_Workout-1

And look who decided to keep me company during my wall sit…………

IMG_2653

Leave a Reply

Therien Property Management

Commercial and Residential Property Management Services

thebarebeauty

baring it all on health fitness beauty - a Singapore fitness & beauty blog

Ashley Wiseman

Empowering women to live their healthiest life

The Highlands Life

Finding joy in the bends & curves of life.

omfg. so good.

if it tastes good, eat it.

Brooklyn Farm Girl

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

Pumps & Iron

A healthy lifestyle blog.

Hungry Mother Runner

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

