Overnight Oats and 10 and 2 Workout

11 Sep

I’ve mentioned before how my mornings are a bit crazy.  I try to be out the door no later than 5:40am.  I give myself 40 minutes to get ready in the morning and unfortunately I allocate more time on my hair than making breakfast.  Breakfast however is  essential in my house.  I try to have my breakfast made the night before so that I can just grab and go.

Hubby gets the kids ready in the morning.  He’s awesome at preparing them home cooked meals including scrambles eggs, french toast or omelets but there’s  some morning when I know my husband would appreciate a break from cooking.  My daughter isn’t necessarily the easiest child to get ready.  These overnight oats are perfect for those mornings when you’re running around frantically and you have no time to prepare anything.  Hubby literally takes these out of the fridge and lets the kids choose which toppings they want to add and that’s it.  Super easy and quick.

This recipe is more basic than other overnight oats recipes that you may find online.  I wanted to keep it simple because

1) My kids are picky and so is my Hubby

2) It’s nice to add fresh berries and your own toppings in the morning and

3) My kids are picky

OVERNIGHT OATS

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup almond milk (or milk of your choice)
  • 1/2 cup organic rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup vanilla (or plain) Greek yogurt (I used non-fat)
  • 1 pinch of cinnamon

Instructions

  1. The night before you plan to eat your oats, mix together all of the ingredients listed above and seal in an airtight container.
  2. Refrigerate the mixture overnight (they will be ready in about 3 hours, but overnight is best).
  3. Wake up and enjoy the next day!

I like to add fresh berries and sometimes I top it off with a pinch of brown sugar.

IMG_2638

Give it a try and let me know what you top off your oats with!

I also did this circuit when I got home from work.  I had about 40 free minutes so I managed to squeeze in this workout and it was actually a lot of fun.

10_and_2_Circuit

What’s  great about these workouts is that you can always change some of the exercises.  If you don’t have a treadmill, you can skip for 2 minutes instead.  For the Bicep curls, you can use a band, kettlebell or dumbells.    No other equipment is required to complete this workout.

On another note.  Today marks the 12th anniversary of September 11th.  I remember 9/11 like it was yesterday. It changed our world forever and I will never forget.  I will spend today honoring those affected!

Leave a Reply

Therien Property Management

Commercial and Residential Property Management Services

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

Oh She Glows

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

