Peanut Butter-Swirled Cheesecake Bars with Brown Sugar-Graham Cracker Crust

26 Aug

When I’m craving something sweet, whoa look out!  It’s not often I get hit with a wicked craving but when I do, I usually whip up something decadent and then surprise my hubby and tell him I did it all for him. Meanwhile the entire time I’m baking I’m snacking on spoonfuls of  cookie dough or grabbing handfuls of chocolate chips that are meant for the recipe.  But as long as Hubby feels special, that’s all that matters right 😉

The other day I came across this recipe from one of my favorite blogs Averie Cooks.  I love anything with Peanut Butter but PB and cream cheese, you have got to be freakin’ kidding me!

When my hubby and I first met I baked him a Caramel Cheese Cake and he told me that I won him over with it.  Our 10  year anniversary is  coming up and I have my eye on this baby, I’m hoping this recipe will soften him up.   He loves PB and Cheesecake.  I figure that making him these which combines both should put me in the  “best wife ever” category.

My wrist does look rather naked right now.  It needs some blingIMG_0041_2

Alright alright I’m really not that materialistic.  I don’t  do things for other in order to get something in return.  I love my Hubby and would do anything to make him happy but I just figured I’d put it out there in case he needed a gift idea.  I would just hate to see him walking  aimlessly through the mall and then eventually stopping at some lingerie store and buying me a sheer and lace nighty that is so small that It rips as I try to squeeze  into it or tears   because it gets caught on my toenail.  You know how it is.  Sometimes you just need to guide your men in the right direction.  Hubby is probably reading this and rolling his eyes right now HAHA.

So on to the goods.IMG_0053_2

PEANUT BUTTER-SWIRLES CHEESECAKE BARS WITH BROWN SUGAR-GRAHAM CRACKER CRUST

INGREDIENTS:

Crust
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 cup graham cracker crumbs
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 tablespoon cornstarch
pinch salt, optional and to taste

Filling
1 large egg
8 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature and very soft (light is okay)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
heaping 1/3 cup creamy peanut butter, melted for swirling

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat over to 350F. Line an 8×8-inch pan with aluminum foil, spray with cooking spray; set aside.
  2. Melt butter in microwave
  3. Add all remaining crust ingredients and mix with a fork.
  4. Add crumb mixture to prepared pan and using a spatula, pack mixture firmly into pan, set pan aside.
  5. In the same mixing bowl (no need to wash it), combine all filling ingredients except peanut butter, and whisk until smooth and combined, or beat with an electric mixer if preferred.
  6. Pour filling over crust; set pan aside.
  7. In the same mixing bowl (no need to wash it), melt the peanut butter, about 1 minute on high power.
  8. Drizzle peanut butter over batter to create swirls.
  9. Bake for about 35 minutes, or until center is set with very little jiggle. A toothpick inserted in the center should come out mostly clean, or with a few moist crumbs, but no batter.
  10. Allow bars to cool in pan for about 1 hour before serving.IMG_0049_2

Bars will keep 1 week in fridge in airtight container but they didn’t last more than two days in our house.  The Brown-Sugar crust on these bad boys is amazing.  My son devoured it.

And if you feel incredibly guilty after eating these, you can always work these devils off doing  this workout.

Happy Monday Everyone!

One Response to “Peanut Butter-Swirled Cheesecake Bars with Brown Sugar-Graham Cracker Crust”

  1. Lauren @ The Highlands Life August 26, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    Mmmmmm…. those look utterly delicious!!

Leave a Reply

Therien Property Management

Commercial and Residential Property Management Services

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

Oh She Glows

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

