Avocado Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

14 Aug

 

fg5jhc7s2tr

I had some sad looking avocados sitting on my counter.  I already made a face mask the other day with one of them

ImageOhhhh our skin felt nice! 

The other day I came across this recipe from Absolutely Avocados.  I’m always trying to encourage my kids to eat healthy and when that fails I’ll try to be sneaky and creative with their food .  Since my kids aren’t big fans of Avocados, I wouldn’t dare tell them that I put them in these cookies.

Avocado Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

1 avocado

1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature

1 1/2 cups dark brown sugar

2 large eggs

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

2 cups all purpose flour (I used 1 cup of whole wheat and 1 cup of all purpose)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats

1 3/4 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Cut the avocado in half and scoop out the flesh into a large bowl. Add the butter and brown sugar. Cream together until fluffy.

Add the eggs, followed by the vanilla. Mix well until well combined.

Add the flour, baking soda, salt and baking powder. Mix slowly then add the chocolate chips and oats. Be careful not to overmix here. Place the dough in the fridge to chill for one hour.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. After the dough has chilled, scoop out spoonfuls of dough on the baking sheet and press down gently with your hand to flatten. Bake for 18 minutes, until golden brown.

And the verdict……

Son:  Yum.  Thanks Mom.

Hubby:  They’re good

I reply:  Theres avocado in them

Hubby: I like your other cookies better

Me: I shouldn’t have told you

Hubby: They’d taste better with Nutella on them.

HAHA So typical!!!  Honestly.  He’s worse than the kids.  I hide veggies in his morning smoothy btw…..

Unsaved Preview Document

2 Responses to “Avocado Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. bri - deliciously active August 14, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    I’ve seen this recipe before but was skeptical and too scared to try it. I love oatmeal cookies and I’d be almost crushed if it tasted like avocado (even though I like avocados). You have convinced me. I think I need to make these next week and hope my boys react the same – although I’ll follow your tip and NOT tell them the ingredients.

    bri

  2. Crazy. Sweaty. Mommy August 14, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

    Hmm…I might have to try this, but do I dare give up my avocados for the kids…well, I guess I could spare 1

Leave a Reply

Therien Property Management

Commercial and Residential Property Management Services

thebarebeauty

baring it all on health fitness beauty - a Singapore fitness & beauty blog

Ashley Wiseman

Empowering women to live their healthiest life

The Highlands Life

Finding joy in the bends & curves of life.

omfg. so good.

if it tastes good, eat it.

Brooklyn Farm Girl

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

Pumps & Iron

A healthy lifestyle blog.

Hungry Mother Runner

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

