Changing up your routine and getting inspiration from others

6 Aug

People often ask me what my training routine consists of.  I have a hard time answering this in a brief sentence because I don’t have just one specific exercise regime.  I’ve learned over the years that I need variety in my workouts.  I’m not one that can go to the gym 4-5 days a week to lift weights and I die of boredom doing cardio indoors.  I’ve also learned that I need to use my imagination when it comes time to working out.  For those that have kids, you know how hard it can be to squeeze in a workout.  You’ll often see me skipping, doing walking lunges or burpees while my kids are playing in the park or during their soccer practice.

I like working out with different people and trying different classes on occasion because I get inspired and motivated by other Trainers and Fitness Instructors.  Today I met with Phil who is a Personal Trainer at the gym that my husband goes to.

My husband often works out with Phil.  After their workouts he’ll come home and tell me how Phil is the fittest guy he’s ever met.  He’s characterized him as being a “different breed”.  He’s a Trainer that thinks outside the box, he’s tough and he’ll push you to your limit.  I was nervous because when my husband thinks someone is tough – they MUST really be tough.  Well after my workout with CRAZY PHIL  I can honestly say that calling Phil “tough” was an understatement.  In all fairness I told Phil that I wanted him to be hard on me and boy was he ever.  What I liked about his training style is that he’s extremely motivating without being “in your face”.  He pushed me harder than I’ve been pushed in a long time.  We did exercises that I’ve never done before and I loved them.  My legs and arms were trembling after.

This blurry photo of me on the step mill depicts what my head actually felt like during last 10 seconds of sprints.  I got super dizzy.  I had to take a minute breather before going on to the next exercise.

.IMG_1357

A tip for all of you that workout., Hydration is key.  I often forget to drink enough water and with my hectic morning chauffering my kids to hockey, I failed to eat and drink enough.  Lesson learned for next time.

If you are looking for a fantastic trainer and you live in Ottawa, I highly recommend you contact Phil at the Athletic Club.  I’ll be booking my next session soon!

Leave a Reply

Therien Property Management

Commercial and Residential Property Management Services

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

Oh She Glows

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

