My favorite Green Smoothie

5 Aug

What does my groundhog day look like?

Wake up at 4:45am.  Shower, hair, makeup, pack my kids lunches, walk my dog, grab my smoothy to go (I drink it during my 45 minute commute to work) and then I’m out the door by about 5:30am.  I can honestly say that the days I don’t have my morning greens, I can feel the difference.  I feel more sluggish, not as alert, more bloated.

My shakes differ but typically I’ll have the following shake inspired by Kimberly Snyder  (see video below)

Ingredients:

  • approximately 1 1/2 cups of water.  More of less depending on how thick you want your shake
  • 1 small head of Romaine Lettuce
  • 1 cup spinach or kale (or a mix of both)
  • 3 celery stalks
  • 1 apple (cored)
  • 1 pear
  • 1 banana
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 cup of ice.
  • I will sometimes add either 1 cup frozen wild blueberries or a cup of frozen strawberries.

This can be made ahead of time and kept in the fridge for a couple of days.  I have a Vitamix blender (that I highly recommend) but it is extremely loud.  I make this shake in the evenings so that I don’t wake my family up in the wee hours of the morning.

Try this shake for a week and let me know how you feel.  I guarantee you’ll see and feel a difference.

Leave a Reply

Therien Property Management

Commercial and Residential Property Management Services

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

Oh She Glows

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

