Sunday night comfort food – LASAGNA

3 Sep

I love making lasagna.  It’s one meal that I know the kids won’t complain about.  I normally assemble and bake it on a Saturday night after the kids have gone  to bed.  It’s a time consuming dish and it’s nice to make it while sipping a glass of wine.  Plus Lasagna always seems to taste better the following day.

I’ve been making lasagna for years.  I remember my mom making it every Sunday when we were younger and it was always my favorite meal.

I wish I could say that I make all of my noodles and sauces from scratch but I don’t.  I really don’t have the time.  One day I’ll be the envy of all my friends and make everything fresh and from the garden but right now when I make lasagna, I use store bought sauces.

What you’ll need:

13×9 inch pan

Ingredients:

  • 12 – 16 uncooked lasagna noodles (depending on the amount of layers you wish to do)
  • 1 cup onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 container of ricotta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 2 jars of pasta/spagetti sauce
  • 2 cups shredded monzarella cheese
  • 1 tbs basil
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1tbs Olive oil

Heat oven to 375.

Chop onion and garlic.  In saucepan, add 1 tbs olive oil and sautee onion and garlic.  add ground beef and cook until no longer pink.  Add 1 and 1/2 jars of the pasta sauce (keep about 1/2 cup of the sauce for the top layer of the lasagna – I like my top layer to be more saucier than meaty).  Add oregano and allow sauce to simmer

In a seperate bowl, beat 1 egg.  add container of ricotta cheese and 1tbs chopped basil and mix until smooth.

Meanwhile, cook pasta according to package directons.

Sit back and grab a glass of wine while noodles are cooking.

In the bottom of 9×13 inch pan, spread a small amount of sauce.  Add one layer of noodles lengthwise overlapping noodles slightly.  I normally use 4 pasta pieces per layer. Spread 1/3 of the ricotta cheese mixture plus 1/3 of the monzarella and cover with 1/4 of the sauce.  Repeat layers twice begining and ending wiht pasta noodles.  On top layer, add remaining meat sauce plus the plain pasta sauce.  Sprinkle the parmesan cheese on the top layer and I sometimes add a very small amount of any remaining monzarella cheese (very small amount – maybe just 1/4 cup if that).

Cover pan with foil and bake for 30 minutes.  Remove foil and bake for an additional 5 minutes. The last minute of two, you can put the broil feature on the oven if you prefer your lasagna a little more “well done” on top (I DO!)

If you are making the lasagna ahead of time, allow to cool and then cover with foil and put in fridge and when ready to eat, reheat at 350 for 30 minutes with foil and 30 minutes without foil.

Best served with a nice green salad and a fresh french loaf of bread!

Leave a Reply

Therien Property Management

Commercial and Residential Property Management Services

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

Oh She Glows

dishing on fitness, food, fashion and family adventures

